Pernil

            When I would attend family dinners on holydays I would always help my mom or my sister prepare the pernil (roast pork). But one day they had me prepare it which was something I was not looking forward to. Their excuse of why they wanted me to do it was because they said I needed to learn how to cook in order to live on my own. Naturally I was nervous and had no clue where to start or what to do so I went online. I found a website similar to this one http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/roasted-pork-shoulder-pernil-al-horno-recipe/index.html. In this website it shows you how to prepare the pernil before cooking it. I follow it step by step but added a few things as I went along. The interesting thing I found about cooking a pernil is that there are many different ways to prepare it. Even though I follow the web sites instructions it was very different of how my mom and my sister prepared it. The end result was an edible and delicious pernil.

Leave a comment