What has been learned?

Over the past few weeks we’ve been exposed to new ways of doing research using the internet. While I was aware on the existence of search engines, such as Google, Bing, etc. I was not aware that there were search engines, such as Google Scholar, that do specialized searches that allow us to narrow our search so that we may hone-in on the specific aspect of a topic in which we are interested.

I was familiar with library catalogs and knew that I could search under the name of authors or books, but I discovered that with the advent of computers, these searches can now be done much faster and that I could cross-reference many of the entries that I found, or look- up information or excerpts from the books mentioned.
The existence of article databases also facilitates the search for information and enhances our ability to find much more information on a subject than we could just ten years ago.

I believe that the skills that I am learning in this class will empower me to do better research in any area of endeavor.

Rigoberto

Leave a Reply

