Advanced search

I am not sure if discovering new search engines that may offer a more focused approach to my search for additional data on our research subject will make my life easier. So far, it seems like the more digging I do into the subject the more I find aspects of the subject that pique my interest and make me want to explore them too. I looked at Google scholar and it provided me with a wealth of information on books and articles on my subject. I have had a chance to look at a few of the books and now I can see that I’m going to have to limit the my research to a much narrower scope.
We are told that knowledge is power, but I am afraid that too much knowledge can be incapacitating because we become fatigued and overloaded and feel powerless to do anything.

Rigoberto

2 responses to “Advanced search

  1. I agree with you–to much information can indeed be overwhelming and can also start to erase your own perspective concluding in elimination of your own ideas. I presume your research will be critical thinking in society right? Is so, then I suggest experimenting critical thinking with a certain age group (lets say between the ages 20-30) using a sample test. For example–FEDEX logo, a normal person would just look at the logo and assume its a few letters, but a person who engages in critical thinking will answer that in between the E and X there is an arrow pointing right. Then compare your results with children and choose a different object, subject, etc and test their ability of critical thinking. At the end of the day critical thinking is about crawling out of the cardboard box. Research wise, Google scholar, you might want to search about critical thinking back in the stone age and compare them to the present, also you might want to compare present critical thinking results with America and different countries.

  2. I really don’t think that critical thinking is such a difficult thing to do. I say this because anyone who observes an event in nature is likely to be curious to learn or understand what has just occurred. He is likely to ask himself some questions, such as : what? why? how? when? and these are the very questions that all critical thinkers pose whenever they observe or hear something, and it is the basis for the inquiry that is necessary to explain anything that we may experience in life.
    What worries me and prompted me to write on this subject is the lack of intellectual curiosity that is displayed by so many people. This lack of curiosity is responsible for them accepting ideas on face value and not questioning the validity of some pronouncements that, to me, just don’t make sense. I am worried that many of us attend institutions of higher learning and manage to graduate without learning how to investigate and/or analyze data.

Leave a Reply

